CRT 2004 Annual Achievement Award Winners


Winners Announced for 2004 Annual Achievement Awards

Contact: Alicia Cunningham 202-296-4031

The Coalition for Recreational Trails (CRT) has announced the winners of its sixth annual “Achievement Awards” in recognition of their outstanding use of Recreational Trails Program (RTP) funds. The award winners will be recognized at a special ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., on June 8, 2004, during the celebration of "Great Outdoors Week."

The trail projects and programs to be honored by the CRT are as follows:

The RTP, first established in 1991 and then reauthorized as part of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21), returns a portion of federal gasoline taxes generated by non-highway recreation to the states for trail-related purposes. The members of the CRT work together to build awareness and understanding of the RTP, to support its effective implementation and to help ensure that it receives adequate funding.