Derrick Crandall, President

Derrick Crandall – is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Recreation Coalition, a position he has held since 1981. He also serves as Counselor to the National Park Hospitality Association, as a Steering Group member for the National Park Service Centennial Advisory Committee, and as Co-Chair of both Great Outdoors Month Partnership and the Coalition for Recreational Trails. Among the dozens of public-policy programs in which he has played a central role are the National Scenic Byways Program, Recreation Fee Demonstration Program, Recreational Trails Program, Wallop-Breaux Program, and the National Recreation Lakes Study Commission. These efforts have been recognized in many ways, including induction into the RV Hall of Fame and receipt of the Annual Award of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. USA Today has described him as “the outdoor guru.” Mr. Crandall served as a member of the President's Commission on Americans Outdoors from 1985 to 1987 and was named to the President's Commission on Environmental Quality in 1991, the same year that he received the Chevron Conservation Award. He was also Chairman of the Take Pride in America Advisory Board, appointed by the Secretary of the Interior, and a Founding Director of the National Forest Foundation, appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. He has served on several national judging panels, including co-chairing the U.S. Department of the Interior's Take Pride in America award program. He received the Spirit of Take Pride Award in October 2004 and was recognized with a Centennial Award by the Forest Service. In 2004, he organized Great Outdoors Month, which is now proclaimed annually by the President of the United States and the governors of all 50 states. Mr. Crandall served on the Board of the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) for seven years, including two terms as Vice Chairman. He received ASAE's Professional Performance Award in 1980, his Certified Association Executive recognition in 1990 and was named an ASAE Fellow in 1992. He has served in leadership roles on numerous community and philanthropic organizations, including the executive committee of WOW-Wonderful Outdoor World. He is an honors graduate of Dartmouth College.