Richard D. Bass of Snowbird Resort to Receive 2007 Sheldon Coleman Great Outdoors Award

Washington, D.C. – Richard D. Bass, Chairman and CEO of Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, has been chosen to receive the 19th Sheldon Coleman Great Outdoors Award – the recreation community’s most prestigious award. Mr. Bass, the first person to climb the highest peak on each of the seven continents, is one of the ski industry’s most dynamic and energetic leaders and has a remarkable record of community service to youth, the disabled and to the environment. “Dick Bass is a Renaissance man and a visionary demonstrating a life-long enthusiasm for confronting challenges that would deter virtually all others. He has always found multiple ways to invest his incredible energies,” remarked Derrick Crandall, American Recreation Coalition (ARC) President, as he announced the award.

After involvement in the development of Vail, Aspen and Alta ski areas, Mr. Bass devoted himself to the creation of Snowbird Ski Resort, which opened in 1971. Snowbird and its Little Cottonwood Canyon neighbor, Alta, have been ranked the top ski resort in the United States by SKIING Magazine for four years running. In addition to providing more than one million recreation visits per year, the resort has received awards for environmental excellence from the Utah Department of Natural Resources, the prestigious Golden Eagle Award for Overall Environmental Excellence by a ski resort (twice) and, together with Trout Unlimited, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s 2007 Environmental Achievement Award. Mr. Bass received the National Ski Areas Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006.

The list of organizations serving disadvantaged youth, the disabled and the environment supported by Mr. Bass is a long one. From Wasatch Adaptive Sports and the Boys and Girls Club of Utah to the National Forest Foundation and Wonderful Outdoor World (WOW) in Utah, Mr. Bass and Snowbird have helped thousands of youngsters connect with the outdoors and contributed significant manpower and fiscal resources to public land management efforts on the Wasatch-Cache National Forest.

The Sheldon Coleman Great Outdoors Award will be presented on June 12 in Washington, D.C., as a featured event of Great Outdoors Week 2007. The award is presented to an individual whose personal efforts have contributed substantially to enhancing outdoor experiences in America. The award was established in 1989 in honor of Sheldon Coleman (1901-1988), longtime Chairman of The Coleman Company and a visionary champion of outdoor recreation and conservation. Winners are selected by a national panel of recreation and conservation leaders from both the private and public sectors. Past recipients of the award include former President George Bush, National Geographic Society Chairman Gil Grosvenor, then-U.S. Senators John Breaux, Frank Murkowski and John Chafee, U.S. Representatives Jim Oberstar, Ralph Regula and Thomas Petri and former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta. The honoree is selected by a panel of more than 100 public and private-sector recreation community leaders.

America’s recreation community leaders gather in Washington, D.C. during Great Outdoors Week (June 11-16, 2007) to take part in meetings and events designed to increase the visibility of outdoor recreation on the national policy-making level, heighten the understanding and appreciation of recreation’s importance to the nation’s health, economy and quality of life, and provide an opportunity to highlight key recreation policy initiatives and programs and to recognize outstanding leadership on behalf of outdoor recreation. Great Outdoors Week is coordinated by ARC – the national voice for America’s recreation community – a nonprofit federation of more than 100 organizations representing enthusiasts, private-sector providers of recreation opportunities, and producers of recreation equipment. Great Outdoors Week is one of dozens of recreation events that take place during Great Outdoors Month 2007, proclaimed by the President of the United States and more than 20 governors.